Seek Wholeness of Soul (Relationship Series) 

  
Two halves don’t make a whole person, and two severely broken people don’t have a healthy relationship. A healthy relationship requires at least one healthy person. 

I had a lady tell me I didn’t know anything about marriage because I’m not married. Jesus was never married. Apostle Paul was unmarried. Many of the passages on marriage conduct were written by Paul. 

I’ve watched healthy and unhealthy marriages, and helped married couples (mainly the wife) and seen God restore marriages. 

Disclaimer: I am not trying to give anyone marriage advice. Nope.

I wasn’t trying to give her marriage advice either. My statement was in regards to keeping God first, as humans cannot meet all our needs. 

She grew angry as her husband was the greatest priority above everyone and everything. This ended in devastation. I tried to warn, not preach. Yet every one makes their own choices and she gets to try again with another hubbie. There’s love, mercy, and abounding grace… 

So as I write, please know I don’t think I’m the expert, nor am I trying to tell you what to do. There’s freedom in Christ and everyone must follow the leading of the Holy Spirit. 

Today, I wanted to talked about wholeness of soul. 

What is the soul? It’s your mind, will, heart, emotions. It’s separate but connected to your spirit. 

The spirit of a person is made perfect at conversion, the soul is being sanctified over time with God.  The spirit of a born again believer can be on fire for God and the soul sick or a hot mess. 

Have you seen the movie Inside Out by Pixar? Love and recommend. Our soul can be like sadness or fear and our spirit flooded with joy. 

  
There’s joy dragging sadness around! Photo courtesy of Pixar. 

I’m not stating we will never feel fear or sadness if we are healthy. Nope. When we are consumed with perpetual fear or sadness or insecurity, therein lies the problem. 

Over the years I’ve done lots of study on the soul, inner healing, overcoming trauma, deliverance, and bringing health to the soul. 

I’ve found through research and the word of God that a sick or wounded soul affects the entire being (physical and spiritual). It also deeply impacts relationships and intimacy with others.

James 1:21 tells us to “receive and welcome the Word which implanted and rooted [in your hearts] contains the power to save your souls” The word “save” means “to save one suffering from disease, to make well, heal, restore to health.” 

Quote is from Soul Decrees by Katie Souza. Use the Word of God to heal the soul. 

Some soul conditions are deemed normal but they cause problems in relationships: 

  • Insecurity
  • Excessive fear and worry
  • Low self worth, self hatred
  • Jealousy
  • Bitterness/unforgiveness
  • Unresolved anger/rage
  • Lust 
  • Soul depression/oppression (not all depression is medical-some is in the soul)
  • Desire to control or manipulate

The soul needs TLC. Over time we are exposed to so much pain, rejection, hurt, loss, grief, and over time you notice children lose some of their joy and sense of wonder. So much is deposited on the soul. Our natural, purest state is love, peace, and joy. 

Life lessons: 

I dated the same guy through high school and most of college. I wish I knew then what I know now. We both suffered some pretty big traumas in life that neither of us knew how to heal. This made things challenging. At the time you forgave people and grieved. I had no clue and didn’t until recently on how to heal the soul. 

This guy wanted to get married. I declined. It wasn’t the easiest thing to do, when you’ve known someone for 9 years. Yet it wasn’t right and God told me no. I will spare you details. Just know a yes would not have been good. No Bueno! 

Looking back from then until today, so many things have changed in my soul. Even the past week with my fellowship group we have been doing several different methods of soul healing and inner healing. 

I can not imagine walking into marriage with the guy from my past or even today without addressing soul wounds. Our soul is wounded by trauma, prolonged sickness (our own or close family members), death of a loved one, persecution, being sinned against, our own sin, rejection, etc… 

If we are struggling in our soul, many times we will attract those with similar issues or who reinforce our issues. 

I hear ladies say, “I seem to keep attracting the same type of guy and he breaks my heart.” That’s an indicator for me to check the soul. 

It’s good to be healthy in spirit, soul, and body. God desires that our soul prospers and is in health. 

Some Resources for You: 

Books: 

  • Soul Decrees by Katie Souza
  • Breaking Free by Beth Moore (book and video series available at Lifeway)

There are so many resources I will maybe do a separate post reviewing them for you. 

Inner healing is powerful. Once the soul is healed and it’s a process, the rest of the body flourishes. The goal isn’t perfection. The goal is pursuing wholeness because intimacy does not diminish issues, it highlights them. 

Healing the soul also improves friendships and family relationships. 

Papa God I thank You for Your unconditional love and ability to heal our souls. Every wound or issue in our soul, I ask that it would receive Your cleansing. Healing and restoration be imparted to every part of our being. In Jesus powerful name, amen. 

Love, 

Erin 

5 responses to “Seek Wholeness of Soul (Relationship Series) 

  1. You’re so right. My struggles with depression are by far the biggest issue in my marriage. It can be really difficult to deal with.

  2. I just read this post, and you said you might post another listing the various soul healing resources. Can you direct me to it, if you’ve done it and if not, I’d be really interested. For now, I’m going to check these out. Thanks!

    On Fri, Nov 27, 2015 at 8:12 PM, Just Thinking Aloud wrote:

    > Erin Lamb posted: ” Two halves don’t make a whole person, and two > severely broken people don’t have a healthy relationship. A healthy > relationship requires at least one healthy person. I had a lady tell me I > didn’t know anything about marriage because I’m” >

    • Mary thank you for your comment. Here are some resources. God bless you.

      Healing Your Soul on YouTube with Katie Souza.

      Soul Decrees (Book-can be found on Amazon.com) by Katie Souza.

      Deep Wounds, Deep Healing (book on Amazon) by Dr. Charles Kraft.

      2 Hours to Freedom (book on Amazon) by Dr. Charles Kraft.

      Breaking Free (book and teaching series on Lifeway.com) by Beth Moore

Leave a Reply

