Who Are You In Christ?

20130909-223050.jpg

Last post I talked about humility is different from insecurity. It does not glorify God for us to demean humanity since He made us in His image (Genesis 1:27). We are actually insulting God when we put ourselves down or others. The value He placed on humanity was the life of His Son. The Father gave His most precious, valuable Son in exchange for us.

Once we are saved, we are given a new nature and identity. To focus on the old man is to deny the power of the cross. Yes, we still make mistakes, but our identity was changed when we chose by faith to follow Jesus (2 Corinthians 5:18, Galatians 2:20). He longs for us to live out of our new identity as sons and daughters of God. Here are some affirmations.

I am accepted…

I am God’s child, John 1:12.

As a disciple, I am a friend of Jesus, John 15:15.

I have been justified, Romans 5:1.

I am united with the Lord, and I am one with Him in spirit,1 Corinthians 6:17.

I have been bought with a price and I belong to God, 1Corinthians 6:19-20.

I am a member of Christ’s body,1 Corinthians 12:27.

I have been chosen by God and adopted as His child, Ephesians 1:3-8.

I have been redeemed and forgiven of all my sins, Colossians 1:13-14

I am complete in Christ, Colossians 2:9-10.

I have direct access to the throne of grace through Jesus Christ, Hebrews 4:14-16.

I am secure…

I am free from condemnation, Romans 8:1-2.

I am assured that God works for my good in all circumstances, Romans 8:28.

I am free from any condemnation brought against me and I cannot be separated from the love of God, Romans 8:31-39.

I have been established, anointed and sealed by God, 2 Corinthians 1:21-22.

I am hidden with Christ in God, Colossians 3:1-4.

I am confident that God will complete the good work He started in me, Philippians 1:6.

I am a citizen of heaven, Philippians 3:20.

I have not been given a spirit of fear but of power, love and a sound mind, 2 Timothy 1:7.

I am born of God and the evil one cannot touch me, 1John 5:18.

I am significant…

I am a branch of Jesus Christ, the true vine, and a channel of His life, John 15:5.

I have been chosen and appointed to bear fruit, John 15:16.

I am God’s temple, 1 Corinthians 3:16.

I am a minister of reconciliation for God, 2 Corinthians 5:17-21.

I am seated with Jesus Christ in the heavenly realm, Ephesians 2:6.

I am God’s workmanship, Ephesians 2:10.

I may approach God with freedom and confidence, Ephesians 3:12.

Sweet friends, the Bible contains so many promises and encouraging words about who we are in Christ. He made all things new, and He’s transforming us into the image of His Son. We have no confidence in ourselves, but boldness in who we are in Christ. “If we call ourselves sinners, we will be more prone to sin by faith. For as a man thinks and believes, so is he,” Bill Johnson. Lets think of ourselves as God does.

Prayer:

Father help us to keep our eyes on You. May we walk in Your version of humility, and love and accept ourselves as You do. Jesus died to free us, let us not become slaves to introspection, insecurity, fear, unbelief, shame, or condemnation. You call us chosen, holy, royal, and the apple of Your eye. Help us to live loved! Thank You for all things. In Jesus name, amen.

2 responses to “Who Are You In Christ?

Leave a Reply

