I Can’t Do It (Killing Insecurity Part 4)

88f01aa52e528179cbf84ad1ebf1ea42

Have you ever told God you couldn’t do something when He asked you to? I have. There are too many things to put in a blog post. For example, I am not an extrovert. I am an introvert. I don’t really like big group settings, public speaking, and left to do my own will I would probably have minimal contact with anyone other than Jesus. God calls me to engage with people, be involved in community, speak out, teach, and do things I can not do or would not do without His help.

One of my favorite people in the Bible is Moses. I can relate to Moses. Moses had a stuttering problem. He did not have eloquent speech. He did not want to be the mouthpiece for God to Pharaoh. See Exodus 4 below.

And Moses said to the LORD, O my LORD, I am not eloquent, neither heretofore, nor since you have spoken to your servant: but I am slow of speech, and of a slow tongue. And the LORD said to him, Who has made man’s mouth? or who makes the dumb, or deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? have not I the LORD? Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth, and teach you what you shall say, Exodus 4:10-12.

Moses pleaded with God and God appointed Aaron to go with Moses to speak. The passage goes on to say God was upset with Moses. Moses denied God’s ability to use him. He placed the focus on his ability instead of God’s ability. I love this quote, “Even our greatest idea of who God is still makes Him so small.” We somehow think our weaknesses limit what God can do. It is the failure to believe that God is all-powerful, He can be trusted, and He can do anything He wants through anyone.

Like Moses, I have had those conversations with God. The first time I was approached about leading a Bible study. I said, “I am not qualified to do this. I have not been to seminary. There are people in this group who are in seminary-they know far more than I do. I don’t like group activities. I don’t like talking to people. I can’t do this.” God gave me time to muddle through all the insecurities and reminded me of this truth, “I am with you.” It’s about honoring Him and trusting Him. God qualifies the called. He gives us His strength and ability to do what He asks us to do. God’s strength is more powerful than our weaknesses. 

The truth is we are all inadequate to do the great things God placed us here to do. He longs for us to lean on Him. He wants to be the centerpiece of our lives. It’s God in us that does amazing things. I truly believe He calls us to do things outside our comfort zone and realm of ability so we can grow in trusting Him. We can also look back and say, “I know that was God because there is no way I could have done that.

I’d love to tell you when God asks me to do certain things now that there are no more thoughts of “I can’t do this,” but there are. It doesn’t mean I rebel and do my own thing. It means I cling tightly to Him and let Him have His way. It may not always be immediate, but it happens eventually. It also does not mean everything God asks me to do plays out perfectly. Some things I may never understand or they seem meaningless to me, yet valuable to Him.

So dear friends, no matter what you face this week, God is able. He is for you. He has great plans to use you for His Kingdom advancement. He’s offering you His strength. May you and I rest in who God is and what He can do through us! Nothing is impossible for God.

Love in Christ,

Erin

59204033fdb982331ebe86bc15c62491

 

Leave a Reply

