Confidence (Identity in Christ Part 4)

You are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light, 1 Peter 2:9.

Who is the most dangerous Christian in the eyes of the enemy? The one who knows who they are and who they belong to. Since the devil can’t steal our salvation, he tries to make us weak and wimpy, fearful and worried, or overly preoccupied with what people think. He consistently attacked Jesus’ identity. If you are the Son of God, then do this? The Pharisees continually asked Jesus, “Who do you think you are?” It all boils down to one thing, identity. If we don’t know who we are, we will look for things outside God to find significance; people, careers, ministry, appearance, social media, family, etc…. The truth is confidence in who we are in Christ is from God. Self loathing and low self-worth are from the enemy. We are the weapons on this planet that were set up to destroy the works of the enemy, yet we cower from him and people.

What is Confidence?

I have heard Eric Johnson describe confidence this way. Confidence is a right assessment of oneself in relation to God. It is agreeing with what God says and feeling good about who you are in Christ, in your God-given identity.

No Confidence =

  • We don’t risk much. We are so afraid of pride or failure; we don’t take risks. We struggle believing God’s words about us and settle for our own. Here’s an example from my life. When God said, “Go teach the gospel,” I responded with, “I am not a teacher. I haven’t been to seminary. Can you send someone else?” Somewhere inside we think we are being humble, when it’s really pride. All the while God is saying, “It’s not about you. It’s about who I am in you. Now go.” So off I went, unqualified by man, but called by God.
  • We get beat up in spiritual battles. Jesus rested in storms. He wasn’t unsettled, unnerved, or worried. He knew who He was and what He could do. He wasn’t afraid. He spoke to the problem and went back to sleep. He didn’t fight with the devil, He used the Word against him. He didn’t strive. He walked in peace.  I’m reminded of the scripture, “Cease striving and know that I am God,” Psalm 46:10. I, unlike Jesus, can get really unsettled or overly concerned. It’s because in those moments I have forgotten who I am and whose I am. It’s something God is still working on in my life.
  • What will people think of me. Who cares. We aren’t living for them. Let people think what they want. So what if people think you’re arrogant.  “Confidence can look like arrogance to the unbelieving,” Bill Johnson.  If I don’t believe I am highly valued by God, then I will be offended by others who do. If I don’t believe I have a lot to offer or gifts from God, then I will be offended by those that do. If I am insecure, then a confident person will seem arrogant to  me. Insecurity keeps us offended because we don’t realize how valuable we are. There is only one secure identity, in Christ. And it is one of nobility. So, my friends, hold you head up high. It’s not about us. It’s about who we belong to, and oh how He loves us. Plus we will never please everyone. It’s much easier to live in God’s already given approval.
  • We don’t trust God to do great things for us. When we know we are co-heirs with Christ, we expect to share His inheritance. It is a gift. God has gifts stored up for us. When I am at my dad’s house, I eat what I want. I don’t beg. I ask, and know he will give me what I ask for. I even eat off his plate. He’s my dad. I am his daughter. Everything he has, he longs to share with me. God is more generous than my earthly dad.

What’s the Difference Between Confidence vs. Arrogance (Eric Johnson). A confident person is looking for what they can give or contribute. A confident person uses what they know and have to help other people. An arrogant person is looking for what they can gain for themselves. An arrogant person uses what they know or what they have to make themselves better or appear better.

Here’s a practical example. The Queen of England is the queen. She is royalty. She has certain rights. She is noble. What if she refused her assignment saying, “I am not a queen. I am poor and lowly. I can’t do that. I can’t be queen.” Well, she is the Queen whether she walks in her identity or not. She is noble whether she acts like it or not. We are royalty, not paupers. We have been given the King’s name and a new identity.

“Abba I pray you would remove any lies that keep us from being confident in You. It’s not about us but about who You are in us. May we be the biggest threat against darkness, and do all You have placed us here to do. You love us. We are Your children.”

2 responses to “Confidence (Identity in Christ Part 4)

Leave a Reply

