Healthy Relationships (Part 2)

Life is a highway…okay so you can’t hear me singing right now which is a good thing. We talked last time about the fundamentals of a healthy relationship; love, honor, respect, trust…

Friendship Does Not Equal Marriage.

So, I wanted to talk about something I see more with women than men. Women tend to treat friendship like it is a marriage… til death do us part. I have seen and been a part of many a cat fight over who is who’s best friend. Men tend to go with the flow. Women can become possessive, jealous, controlling, and down right vicious in relationships. All of these things are rooted in insecurity. There is this fear of loss of attention, or significance, or control…And it’s not healthy.

Recently, I had to tell a group of people I can not promise them life long friendship. Why? because I could move across the world (which is an option), or meet new people that require my time, or simply can’t fulfill that promise. I’ve found it’s better not to make a promise than not keep one. Also, you run into the problem of how to deal with that promise if the relationship get’s toxic. How do you get out when you’ve promised life-long friendship to someone who treats you poorly yet wants to remain friends? I can write about these things because I have suffered the consequences of befriending people only to find out they gossiped, lied, and treated me pretty bad. Trying to gracefully exit the relationship led to more drama as strangers were dragged into it, mutual friends, and it was a mess. How did I get there? Well, I will befriend anyone and once I do I will give 100% until it’s obvious the person is taking advantage. Even still, I will try (not always successful) to be kind even when kindness isn’t returned. I’ve learned though this “promise of friendship,” is a trap. None of us can even guarantee we will awaken in the morning let alone be friends with someone forever. Life changes. People change. Circumstances change. We cannot promise anything. Only God can because He cannot violate His Word.

And women, we must stop with the possesiveness, back-biting, you stole my friend, jealousy, etc…non-sense. It’s ridiculous. If we are good to people, they will stick around. If we are not, then we cannot expect them to stay. It’s that simple. People are not Jesus, and cannot promise someone they will take whatever the other person dishes out for eternity. Not only is that not loving, it’s not God’s will. If you dated someone and they cheated on you, lied, and treated you poorly, you’d break up with them. If the relationship wasn’t healthy, you’d part ways. Women will cling to relationships that are killing them emotionally, and spiritually because of this “promise of friendship.”

Make Room For More:

If I had every friend I ever made, I would have no time alone, no ability to meet new people, and it wouldn’t make sense. Now I do have friends from high school and college that I’ve known a long time, but we can’t spend every waking moment together. It isn’t feasible or possible. They made new friends and so did I. I am not saying every time someone new comes along you ditch another friend. I am saying that your life will be overfull if you try to maintain 20+ friendships. Time is precious. Spend it on the people who you want to invest in, and don’t feel guilty about it.

Mutual friendship. If you’re the only one giving in your relationship, it’s not a relationship. Here me out. There are seasons where one person cannot give anything. However, if all the time it’s you giving and someone else taking, you are not in a relationship. You are someone’s care giver. You are in a parental role. You are not in a healthy relationship. The world is full of givers and takers. Most people like to receive. The problem comes when you are in a relationship with someone who only cares about themself; their needs, their wants, their agenda. Those relationships are not good for you mentally, spiritually, or emotionally.

Here are some questions I have begun to ask about people to determine if I should be in a relationship with them:

Does the person take responsiblity for their actions or is it always someone else’s fault or a misunderstanding?

Does the person fight fair or resort to name calling, blame shifting, and shouting?

Does the person have integrity?

Can the person keep a secret or confidence? Do they tell other people’s business?

Does the person have the capability to have compassion and empathy?

Is the person honest, even if it has the potential to make them look bad?

Will the person stand up for what’s right? If someone else is trying to hurt you, will they take a stand.

Will the person protect my reputation, my confidence, and my heart?

Is the person selfish and self-centered? Can they put another’s needs above their own?

Is the person controlling, manipulative, or possessive?

Does the person inspire me to be a better person? Are they an encourager or discourager?

Does the person have other close friends? A lack of close friends is a warning sign.

How does the person treat people who have nothing to other them?

Are they gracious, kind, and loving?

Could this person be trusted to know my greatest challenges without judging or criticizing?

The list gets longer as I get older. You also realize it’s not the quantity of friends you have, but the quality of friends you have that matters. My mum used to always tell me, “If you have one good friend you can trust that’s better than 10 you can’t trust.” She was right. If you have one person you could trust with your life, you’re richer than most. And don’t feel bad if you don’t mesh well with everyone. We can’t be friends with every person on the planet. Even FB puts a limit on how many friends you can have. 😉

Leave a Reply

