Simply Me

There are so many things that I could be, but I would rather be the best me I can be. If given a choice between being someone else and being myself, then please let me choose to stay who I am. Do I want to be a better person? Absolutely. Do I want to be healthier, kinder, to learn more each day, of course I do. I have noticed as I have grown older, one of the biggest battles has been how to be yourself in a world that is trying to make you someone else.

For a woman it’s someone thinner, prettier, or who has the most things. But what about being happy with what you have and making the most of it. I am simply me. I barely reach 5 feet 6 inches (unless we count heels).  I am not rail thin, nor obese. I refuse to base my value on the external things. The woman I see in the mirror, I am stuck with her for life. I can spend all my time trying to change her looks or look  inside and ask God to beautify my heart.  To someone else I may be beautiful, pretty or just okay. None of that matters, for beauty is fleeting and fades with each passing day. At least if you rely on the world standards. I would rather have a heart that is kind, loving, and be known for being a caring human being. That constitutes real beauty to me. As far as possessions they will come and go. The goal of having them is hopefully to share them, as there are many people in this world who have much less. I am thankful for everything God has given and it may not be what anyone else has. He supplies all that I need and some of what I want. I know that what I have does not make me who I am or better or less than anyone else.

So in closing I am simply me. I dare not compare myself to anyone else. I have to believe that God was wise enough to make me the way He wanted me to be. I choose to believe Him when He says I am loved, accepted, cherished, set apart, beautifully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139). I mean He did create the Heavens and the Earth and there are some incredible breath-taking sights in the world, all hand painted and handcrafted by the One who called it all good. So I trust Him in what He says and accept who I am. I know He is walking me along a path to become the woman He called me to be.

One response to “Simply Me

  1. When we reject ourselves, our looks, talents, or whatever we are picking apart, we are rejecting one whom God loves and created. It’s an outright offense and hurt to the heart of God when we do not accept who we are. This doesn’t mean there aren’t things, such as our attitude, that need to be changed once in awhile, but at the core, we are called to love who we are so we can love others.

Leave a Reply

